LIVES OF THE BISHOPS OF EXETER
OLIVER KING, a native of London, educated at Eton and King's College, Cambridge. He is described in the patents of 1476 as Master of Arts, the first Licentiate of Laws, and principal secretary to King Edward IV., to which last office he had been appointed for life.
When Pope Alexander VI. provided him on 1st October, 1492, to the vacant see of Exeter, he was in possession of the archdeaconry of Taunton and the deanery of Hereford. He was consecrated bishop in the course of the ensuing February, perhaps on 3rd, at Lambeth, by Archbishop Morton, but, whether he ever saw this diocese we cannot discover from his Register. On 11th March, 1494, he was residing at Sheene, when he collated Hugh Oldam (subsequently Bishop of Exeter) to the canonry and prebend of this cathedral, void by the death of John Paskewe. On 6th November, 1495, he succeeded Bishop Fox at Bath and Wells. In the former city he commenced the rebuilding of the abbey-church, but only lived to see the west end and the south part of the structure in an advanced state. From its lightsome appearance it obtained the name of "The Lantern of England." He died on 29th August, 1503, and, in conformity to his will, was buried on the north side of the choir near its high altar.
Arms: - Argent, on a chevron sable, three escalops of the first.
Previous Bishop Return to list of Bishops Next Bishop